Dr. Arunima Gupta
Dr. Arunima Gupta
Scientist 'G' and Director, DIPR

Dr Arunima Gupta, Scientist ‘G’ assumed the charge as Director, Defence Institute of Psychological Research (DIPR), DRDO w.e.f. 02 May 2023.

Dr Gupta is acclaimed for her significant contributions in the areas of personality assessment and military psychology during her distinguished career spanning over three and half decades. In the year 1988, she joined DIPR, DRDO and started her professional journey as a young psychologist after undergoing initial training at DIPR and Air Force Selection Board, Dehradun.

She played a pioneering role in the development of selection system for women entry in the armed forces and introduction of two stage selection system. Her leadership in guiding research endeavours, continuous training of assessors and standardisation of selection system was instrumental for evolving ingenious solutions & strengthening psychological support to the Indian Armed Forces. The spin-offs of her research work has benefitted Tri-services, Central Armed Police Forces, security agencies and other civilian organisations of national repute.

She coordinated several research projects and training programmes, initiated collaborations with Academia & also significantly contributed in international joint collaborations. As an expert member in various selection committees of Indian Armed Forces and advisory member of study groups, she was vital in formulation of progressive policies & envisioning futuristic research areas.

She is a post graduate in Psychology from HNB Garhwal University, Uttarakhand and received her PhD in psychology from Bharathiar University. She is a Life Member of various academic and professional societies such as Indian Science Congress Association, Indian Academy of Applied Psychology and Indian Academy of Social Sciences. She co-edited books, authored publications in reputed journals, national and international conferences, authored technical reports/manuals/guides & contributed chapters in many Books.

In recognition of her sustained R&D contributions, she has been conferred with DRDO National Science Day Oration award and Technology Group Award.

Back to Top