Sponsor Logo















About ADE

Located at Science city of India Bangalore, ADE is a system establishment of DRDO meeting needs of Indian armed forces in the field of military aviation with in-house development of state-of-the-art systems and technologies.

About Design Division, AeSI

AeSI is principal Society in India serving professions in areas of aeronautics, aerospace and aviation. Its stated primary purpose is to "advance sciences, engineering, technology and management of aerospace, aeronautics and aviation and to foster & promote professionalism of those engaged in these pursuits". Design division is devoted to offer a platform for the designers to meet & share knowledge.


Seminar on Autonomous Air Vehicles- Technologies & Applications is an annual event jointly conducted by Design Division of The Aeronautical Society of India and Aeronautical Development Establishment (ADE), DRDO, Bangalore. This annual event focuses on technology developments & end applications related to UAVs for both civil and military domains. The event has master classes on day-1 followed by invited talks by eminent speakers on next 2 days.

Download BROCHURE Pdf

Areas of Focus
  • Swarm Robotics
  • Distributed Control
  • Group Co-ordination
  • Navigation/Path Planning
  • Fault Tolerance and Reconfiguration
  • Integrated Vehicle Health Monitoring
  • Sense and Avoid
  • Automatic Take-off and Landing
  • Multi Sensor Data Fusion
  • Data link and Autonomous Systems
Key Note Speakers

Dr. Vijay Kumar – Professor at University of Pennsylvania, USA
Dr. Rakesh Kumar – SRI International, USA
Dr. S. Venugopal – Director, ADE

Click here for Speakers Biodata

Event Dates

8th, 9th & 10th January 2020

Venue : Aeronautical Development Establishment (ADE), Sameekhsa Auditorium,Defence Research & Development Organization (DRDO), Suranjan Das Road, Bangalore - 560075

Programme Schedule
8th Jan 2020 - Master Classes
DurationEventBy/VenueAffiliation Topic
8:00 am to 9:00 amRegistration & light refreshment Sameeksha  
9:00 am to 10:00 amInaugrationSameeksha  
10:00 am to 10:30 amhigh TeaSameeksha  
10:30 am to 12:00 amMaster classProf. AbhishekIIT KanpurRole of aerodynamics and flight dynamics in design of innovative high efficiency VTOL systems  
12:00 am to 1:30 pmMaster classDr. Vijay PatelADAAutomatic take-off and landing
1:30 pm to 2:30 pmLunch break   
2:30 pm to 4:00 pmMaster classProf. Vijay KumarUniversity of PennsylvaniaSwarm of small, flying robots  
4:00 pm to 4:30 amTea BreakSameeksha  
4:30 pm to 6:00 pmMaster classProf. Suresh SundaramIIScRecent developments in sense and avoid technology for UAV
9th Jan 2020 - Technologies
DurationEventBy/VenueAffiliation Topic
9:00 am to 9:45 amKeynoteProf. Vijay KumarUniversity of PennsylvaniaOpportunities and challenges for autonomy in micro aerial vehicles
Session 1 :: Chairman : Prof. K Sudhakar, Ex- Professor IIT Bombay 
9:45 am to 10:15 amInvitedAVM N Tiwari VMIndian Air ForceRequirements for UCAV
10:15 am to 10:45 amTea Break   
10:45 am to 11:15 amInvitedProf Hemendra AryaIIT BombayHardware in Loop simulation for swarms 
11:15 am to 11:45 amInvitedProf. Mangal KothariIIT KanpurAutonomous control of a biplane-quadrotor tail sitter UAV 
11:45 am to 12:15 pmInvitedProf. Bharath GovindrajanIIT MadrasConceptual design of VTOL platforms for next generation air vehicles
12:15 pm to 1:15 pmLunch break   
1:15 pm to 2:00 pmKeynoteDr. Rakesh KumarSRI internationalMetrics and semantics navigation and mapping of UAVs
Session 2 :: Chairman : Dr. B. N. Suresh, Chancellor IIST 
2:00 pm to 2:30 pmInvitedProf. Gopal Krishna PatraCSIR-4PISecurity and privacy concerns of a fleets of drones: potential solution  
2:30 pm to 3:00 pmInvitedDr. S RajaNALVTOL technologies for UAV and challenges 
3:00 pm to 3:30 pmTea Break   
4:00 pm to 4:30 pmInvitedDr. Yogananda JeppuM/s HoneywellSafety critical fault tolerant control-develop, test & certify
4:30 pm to 5:00 pmInvitedDr. Laveen/ Harish JayarajM/s Collins aerospaceMulti-application radio frequency beacon for unmanned vehicle 
10th Jan 2020 - Applications
DurationEventBy/VenueAffiliation Topic
9:00 am to 9:45 amKeynoteDr. S VenugopalADERoadmap and technologies for futuristic UAS development at ADE
Session 3 :: Chairman : Shri. Shyam Chetty, Ex-Dir. NAL 
9:45 am to 10:15 amInvitedShri Rahul RamannaM/s GAPLUAV for societal applications
10:15 am to  10:45 amInvitedProf  K Senthil KumarMIT, ChennaiCase study: Indian made mini UAVs for disaster and societal applications
10:45 am to 11:15 amTea Break   
11:15 am to 11:45 amInvitedShri V T BhaskarVSSCRLV development
11:45 am to 12:15 pmInvitedMr Falk SachsDLR, GermanyDesign and testing of a new cargo drone configuration 
12:15 pm to 12:45 pmInvitedMr Martin LaubnerDLR, GermanyChallenges in operating an experimental 500 kg cargo UAS
12:45 pm to 1:15 pmInvitedShri Sameer JoshiM/s Newspace technologiesManned unmanned teaming (MUM-T) command of skies in the coming decades
1:15 pm to 2:00 pmLunch break   
2:00 pm to 3:00 pmPanel discussion  Achieving Self Reliance in Autonomous Air Vehicles
 Closing remarks by Convenor  

Dr. VK Saraswat -Member, NITI Aayog
Dr. G Satheesh Reddy - Chairman, DRDO
Dr. K Sivan - Chairman, ISRO

Advisory Committee
Dr. Tessy Thomas, DG, Aero (DRDO)
Smt. J Manjula, DG, ECS
Dr. S. Venugopal, Director, ADE
Dr. BN Suresh, Chancellor, IISTISRO-HQ
Dr. Girish Deodhare, PGD(CA) &Director-ADA
Shri Jitendra Jadhav, Director, CSIR -NAL
Dr. P Kunhi krishnan, Director, URSC, ISRO
Dr. UK Singh, Director,CAIR
Shri MZ Siddique, Director, GTRE
Shri SS Nagaraj, Director, LRDE

Organizing Committee
Dr. S. Venugopal
OS & Director, ADE

Dr. Kota Harinarayana
SERB Distinguished Fellow, CSIR-NAL & Chairman, DD-AeSI

Shri Y Dilip
Sc-H & Associate Director, ADE

Shri Kishan Singh Chowhan
Sc-F, ADA & Off. Hon. Secretary, DD-AeSI

Dr. Rakesh Kumar
Sc-E & Hon. Treasurer, DD-AeSI

Dr. Vidyadhar Mudkavi, Head, CSIR 4PI
Dr. Abhay Pashilkar, PGD (Civil Aircraft), NAL
Dr. Vijay Patel, GD, ADA
Dr. Hemendra Arya, Professor, IIT Bombay
Dr. Abhishek, Associate Professor, IIT Kanpur
Dr. Suresh Sundaram, Associate Professor, IISc-B’lore
Shri Abhishek Burman, CEO, General Aeronautics
Shri. Satpal Singh Tomar, Sc F, ADE
Dr. Tarun Uppal, Sc F, ADE
Shri Sufal Chandra Swar Sc E, ADE
Shri Uthirabalan R, Sc D, ADE


" Registration Closed: Thanks for your overwhelming Response"

Industry Professionals/R&D Labs/Academicians

Rs. 6000/-

Startups/Small Scale Industries (50 Limit, First come First serve)

Rs. 3000/-

Students (50 Limit, First Come First Serve)

Rs. 1500/-

1. Registration form required to be filled and sent by email along with payment particulars.
2. On spot registrations not allowed due to security reasons.
3. No accommodation will be provided. Participants are requested to arrange their own accommodation
4. Registration Fee can be paid through DD/Multicity Cheque/Bank Swift Transfer
                A/c Name:           Design Division AeSI
                A/c No:                 36693960168
                IFSC code:            SBIN0006538
                A/c Type:              Current Account
                Bank Address:    SBI, ADE branch, New Thipasandra Post,
5. You are also requested to share the transaction details. Payment acknowledgement and registration confirmation will be sent to your registered email as above.
6. For further Details Contact:
                Dr. Rakesh Kumar, ADE
                Phone:  +919379096888, +918025058142


Contact Us

Aeronautical Development Establishment (ADE)
Defence Research and Development Organisation
Ministry of Defence, GoI, Suranjan Das Road,
New Thippasandra Post, Bengaluru, Karnataka-560075

Phone:  080-25057005
Fax:        080-25283188

Control centre details:-
Contact person:
Mr. S. S. Tomar
080-25058060/ 9448481612

Mr. Avneendra Singh R

Back to Top