Shri Prateek Kishore, Outstanding Scientist & Director
Shri Prateek Kishore
Outstanding Scientist & Director, Terminal Ballistics Research Laboratory (TBRL)

Shri Prateek Kishore, Outstanding Scientist, has assumed charge as Director TBRL with effect from 01 December 2020. Shri Prateek Kishore obtained B.E in Mechanical Engineering from Birla Institute of Technology, Mesra, Ranchi in 1989 and M. Tech in Production Engineering from Punjab Technical University, Jallandhar in 2017. He is also an MBA with specialisation in Operations Management from Institute of Management Technology (IMT), Ghaziabad.

Shri Prateek Kishore joined DRDO at Terminal Ballistics Research Laboratory (TBRL), Chandigarh, as Scientist 'B' in 1991 and rose to the position of OS/Sc H in July, 2018. He has made significant contributions in the area of research in design and development of Shaped Charge and Explosively Formed Penetrator Warheads for anti-armour applications design of warheads for missiles, development of explosive formulations and systems engineering. He was also involved with development of first prototype of Pulse Detonation Engine in India leading to its dynamic trials under laboratory conditions.

Shri Prateek Kishore was Head, Programme Office (Missiles) at DRDO Hqrs. from August, 2014 to January, 2016, coordinating development of all types of tactical missiles. He also worked as Director, Directorate of Planning & Coordination, DRDO Hqr., New Delhi from Dec 2019 to Nov 2020, where he contributed in Planning and Monitoring of different Programmes and Projects of DRDO. His other major contributions were to introduce Online Monitoring of programmes and projects and in revision of Procedures for Project Formulation and Management (PPFM).

He has published more than 35 papers in national and International journals, conferences and workshop and holds 2 patents. He represented DRDO during MTCR discussions at Paris. He also led joint DRDO-BDL delegation to Vietnam for evolving possible areas of cooperation in defence equipment and technologies.

For his technical contributions, he has been awarded with :
  • DRDO Young Scientist Award (2002),

  • DRDO Scientist of the Year Award (2011),

  • DRDO Award for Path Breaking Research / Outstanding Technology Development (2007),

  • Special Award for Strategic Contributions (Year 2009, 2012 and 2016).

  • He is a Fellow of Aeronautical Society of India and Life Member of High Energy Materials Society of India (HEMSI). He is also the Vice Chairman of Chandigarh-Delhi Chapter of HEMSI.

    Back to Top