Director Instruments Research & Development Establishment
Dr B K Das, Outstanding Scientist & Director
Instruments Research & Development Establishment (IRDE)

Dr B K Das, Outstanding Scientist has been appointed Director IRDE. He was Director of ITR from 16th November 2015 to 26 August 2020; and had taken leading various developmental projects for the Range. He joined ITR in 1987; and, since then he has been involved in the performance evaluation of missiles, rockets and various other air borne weapon systems. In ITR, his association from planning to support of missions is exemplary. During this period, he had led the team for the upgradation of Electro Optical Tracking Systems. He was actively involved in the design and development of Real Time Automatic Video Tracker, Post Processing System, Video Encoder, Electro Optical Tracking System and a number of subsystems in Telemetry and Radar. He has enhanced the tracking range of EOTS with augmentation of high performance sensors and image processing. He has led the team towards extension of Range support at other places in shortest possible time. He has actively contributed for setting up of LC-IV along with instrumentation. This complex is used for most of major missions. Concurrent support from Chandipur and Dhamra complex during Target and Interceptor launch reflects his skill of Range Management. He has developed a number of critical subsystems which are augmented with the range systems to enhance its potential.

Dr B K Das did his B.Tech. in Electronics from Burla Engineering College, Odisha. Subsequently, he completed his M.Tech in Computer Science and Doctoral Research in Supercomputing technologies from IIT, Kharagpur. He was the recipient of Best Graduate Gold Medal winner in B.Tech. and Topper of IIT in M.Tech. His Thesis was awarded as the Best Thesis by USA. He has received a number of National and International Awards. Few of them are as under:

  • Lakshmipat Singhania-IIM, Lucknow National Leadership Award as the Young Leader of the country in Science and Technology for the year 2008. (one award for the country)

  • National Award by National Research and Development Corporation (NRDC) for the technological development in Image Processing and Electro Optics for 1997-98. (Only recipient among all the DRDO labs & ISRO Centres)

  • Young Engineer National Award and Medallion by Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE) for contribution in Electro Optics & Image Processing for 1999. (National Topper)

  • Best Presentation among 300 presenters from 30 countries in 16th IASTED International Conference on Parallel and Distributed Computing and Systems, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge,

  • Young Scientist Award by Orissa Vigyan Academy for outstanding contribution in Image Processing (Only one award for the State)

  • Scientist of The Year Award for the year 2003 for outstanding contribution in the field of Electro Optics

  • Award for path breaking research as a member of the team for Air Defence Systems for the year 2006-07

  • Award for Path breaking research as a member of the team for the year 2007-08

  • Best Presentation Award in National Science Day 1996

Back to Top