Director High Energy Materials Research Laboratory
Shri KPS Murthy
Outstanding Scientist & Director, HEMRL

Shri KPS Murthy assumed the charge as the Director of High Energy Materials Research Laboratory (HEMRL), Pune on 1st August 2015. Prior to his appointment as Director HEMRL, he has served as Associate Director of Armament Research & Development Establishment and successfully steered the design & development of warheads and fuze projects for rockets, missiles, Torpedoes and bombs.

An IIT Kharagpur alumnus, Shri Murthy started his scientific journey with ARDE and made outstanding contributions in the design & development of warhead subsystem of various missiles such as Prithvi, Akash, Nag, Air Defence, Nirbhay etc. He was instrumental in developing many advanced warhead technologies like Detonation wave aiming, Deep penetration, Thermobaric warheads and High performance Shaped charges.

A self-reliance evangelist, he has successfully spearheaded several ToTs to Ordnance Factories and encouraged private participation in development & production activities.

In his career spanning 29 years, he has pioneered and innovated Variable Mass Preformed Fragmentation concept for developing Fragmentation warheads, Tandem Warhead for 3rd generation anti tank missile system, Penetration cum blast submunition warheads, Fragment Generator for Ballistic Missile Defence (BMD) applications, Directional blast and Shaped charges for under water application, novel PCB & TB ammunition for MBT Arjun, 500 kg General Purpose and Pre-Fragmented Bombs, Submunition warheads for Rockets, pyro operated safety arming mechanisms (SAM) , impact delay fuzes for various weapon system.

He is presently steering development of advanced cutting edge technologies viz., Advance Tank & Artillery Gun Propulsion Systems, Fuel Rich High Burn Rate Solid Rocket Propellants, Processing of HD1.1 Propellants, New Generation Reactive Armours, Advanced Thermobaric Compositions and Modelling & Simulation of Explosive Initiation and Propellant Combustion Phenomena.

He has published more than 50 technical papers in reputed National & International journals, seminars and symposiums. There are 8 patents to his credit. He is the recipient of many prestigious awards including: DRDO special award for strategic contributions in 2017, DRDO Agni Award for Excellence in Self Reliance in 2014, 2009 and 2005, DRDO Award for Performance Excellence in 2016, 2014, 2012, DRDO Award for Path-Breaking Research / Outstanding Technology Development in 2008, DRDO Scientist of the year Award in 2008, Dr Biren Roy Trust Award (AeSI) in 2007, DRDO Lab Level Technology Group Award in 2006. In addition, under his dynamic leadership HEMRL has been awarded ‘Public Sector of the year Award 2017’ by Indian Institute of Materials Management (IIMM), SKOCH Order of Merit Award in 2017.

He is Fellow of Aeronautical Society of India (AeSI), President of High Energy Material Society of India (HEMSI). At present, he is also leading the Indian National Society for Aerospace and Related Mechanisms (INSARM) Pune chapter as President and as Vice Chairman at the National level.

Back to Top