Ms. Nabanita Radhakrishnan

Ms. Nabanita Radhakrishnan

Director General - System Analysis and Modeling (SAM)

Ms. Nabanita Radhakrishnan, OS is appointed as DG(SAM) w.e.f  15 Nov 2019.  As DG(SAM), she oversees two laboratories;
            (a)        Institute of Systems Studies and Analysis (ISSA)
            (b)        Centre of Fire Explosives and Enviornment Safety (CFEES)

along with three Directorates at DRDO HQ;
            (a)        Dte of Systems and Technology Analysis (D STA)
            (b)        Dte of Public Interface (D PI)
            (c)        Dte of Quality,  Reliability & Safety (D QRS)

A Graduate in Electronics & Communication Engineering from Guindy Engineering College, Chennai with a Post Graduation in Electrical Engineering (Control, Guidance & Instrumentation) from IIT Madras, she joined DRDO, at the Combat Vehicles Research & Development Estt.(CVRDE)in 1984 where she worked initially for the Testing & Evaluation of Main Battle Tank sub-systems viz. Engine, Transmission and Suspension.

In 1992, she was posted to the LCA program as part of the project team at CVRDE for the design & development of the Aircraft Mounted Accessory Gearbox(AMAGB) for LCA, She was instrumental in developing state-of-the-art Test rigs for the testing requirements of AMAGB and the indigenously developed PTO shaft. As Project Manager, she oversaw the completion of over 1000 hrs of testing and the critical airworthiness certification process of AMAGB- the single largest, dynamically operating, indigenously developed LRU in LCA.

In June 2004, she was deputed to G-Fast( Group for Forecasting of Systems and Technologies- a DRDO Think Tank) at DRDO Hqrs and attached with the Office of SA to RM for providing techno-management analysis of DRDO projects and programs. She has Co-ordinated studies with various Delhi based Think tanks for the strategic analysis of technological developments in the International arena including China & Pakistan. In 2007 she was appointed DRDO coordinator for a major study undertaken by NCAER on an economic assessment of DRDO. The nation wide study covered 5 decades of DRDO activity both at macro & micro level and unequivocally established that DRDO has generated a positive benefit to cost ratio with contribution to India’s economic growth.

In Dec 2009 she took over as Director of the newly created Dte of Management Information System & Technology (MIST). As Director MIST she has launched a number of IT initiatives including upgradation of the DRDO wide intranet DRONA, installation of security at different levels, an enterprise wide Video conference system for online reviews & meetings, a DRDO wide messaging and Collaborate solution, online tracking of DRDO projects and development of a number of applications on DRONA including HR, Personnel & Material Management  transactions.

In July 2012, she was given additional charge of Dte of Microelectronics & Devices, overseeing the work of a number of labs viz SSPL, MTRDC & DESIDOC and SITAR society involved in Fab of MMICs & MEMS. In this capacity, she coordinated the projects/ activities of the labs and initiated a number of policy measures for better functioning of SITAR society.

She took over as Director, Planning & Coordination (D P&C) in Oct 2013 at DRDO Hqrs after the merger of Dte. of Management Information System and Technologies (DMIST) with D P&C. As Director P&C, she coordinated the formulation of stringent guidelines for Project Formulation and Management with the release of PPFM 2014. She was also responsible for bringing in the concept of Project Evaluation and Assessment of Readiness Level through the PEARL document which effectively replaced the erstwhile DATE document used during project formulation. She has formulated revised guidelines and rejuvenated the process of Corporate review of labs to bring in better functioning.

She has presented a number of papers on the development of the Aircraft Gearbox and on DRDO products and systems at various forum.

She is a recipient of the DRDO Scientist of the Year award for 2008 and Team Leader award for Best Techno-Managerial Service Award 2012.

She is a Member of Aeronautical Society of India and Instrument Society of India.

Back to Top