K Suryanarain Rau Memorial Award

Dr Reji John, Sci D and Dr G Suresh, Sci B, Naval Physical & Oceanographic Laboratory (NPOL), Kochi, were conferre( with K Suryanarain Rau Memorial Award for Smar Technology Development on 9 August 2002 for their work or the development of smart fluids, such as magneto rheological fluid and magnetoresponsive electrica switching fluid, and their applications. This award was instituted by the Advancement of Materials and Process Engineering, Bangalore .

Sir CV Raman Award

Shri AP Singh, Sci F, Defence Institute of Physiology & Allied Sciences (DIPAS), Delhi, has been conferred with the Sir CV Raman Award by tht Acoustic Society of India on 22 October 2002 at Aligarh Muslim University Aligarh, for his paper entitled, Effect of Chronic Exposure to Hand Transmitted Vibration in Man. The paper is co-authored by M R Bhatia N Kapoor and W Selvamurthy all from DIPAS, Delhi.

Young Scientist Award

Shri TM Kotresh, Sci D, Defence Bio-engineering & Electromedical Laboratory (DEBEL), Bangalore, was conferred with the Young Scientist Award-2002 b) the Brig SK Mazumdar Memorial Trust, Delhi, for his work, Study of Suitability of Non-metallic Materials inside the Habitable Environment of a Military Vehicle.

Patent Filed

A Patent on, A Process for Preparation of Aluminium-Zinc-Magnesium-Copper-Zirconium-Silve Alloy, jointly invented by Dr Ashim Kumar Mukhopadhyay, Sci F and Dr Gankid Madhusudan Reddy, Sci E, Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory (DMRL), Hyderabad has been filed with the Indian Patent Office, New Delhi.