N  E  W  S   L  E  T  T  E  R


Sarvshri Award

Dr SG Kulkarni, Scientist, Institute of Armament Technology (IAT), Pune, has been conferred with Sarvshri Award by the Special Executive Magistrate's/Officers Society, Mumbai, in recognition of his outstanding achievements for unstinted support and active involvement in public causes, adherence to the highest ethical standards. The Award consists of life fellowship and gold medal for defence research given at a function organised at Mumbai on 29 January 2000.


Shri RK Syal, Sci F and Shri SB Talegaonkar, Sci E, High Energy Materials Shri RK Syal receiving NOCIL Award from Prof MM PuriResearch Laboratory (HEMRL), Pune, have been conferred with the NOCIL Award for excellence in design and development of process plant and equipment. The Award was presented by Prof MM Puri, Vice-Chancellor, Punjab University, Chandigarh, during the 52nd Annual Session of Indian Chemical Engineering Congress-99 (CHEMCON-99) held at Punjab University, on 20 December 1999.

National Award for Welfare of the Disabled

Dr OP Nijhawan receiving award from the President of India Shri KR NarayananDr OP Nijhawan, Director, Instruments Research & Development Establishment (IRDE), with his team of S/Shri GK Sharma, S E; JK Bajpai, Sci E; and Dr KSR Krishna awARDEd the National Award, Technological Innovation for the Disabled by the Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment. The Award was presented at the International Disabled Day by the President of India Shri KR Narayanan, on 3 December 1999.


The Award was given in re indigenous development and pro Aspheric Polymethyl Methacrylate Magnifiers of 16, 20, 24 and 28 Dioptre Power for use by partially sighted persons which proved highly efficatious when tried by the National Institute for Visually Handicapped, Dehradun. The development of these magnifiers has made it possible to provide the handicapped with high quality vision aids at a much cheaper rate than the hitherto imported ones.

Dr SS Mishra Memorial Award

Dr Rajnish SharmaDr Rajnish Sharma, Sci D, Institute of Nuclear Medicine & Allied Sciences (INMAS), Delhi, has been awARDEd Dr SS Mishra Memorial Award for 1999-2000 by the National Academy of Medical Sciences (India), New Delhi.



Production Technology Award

Shri T Kumaraswamy, TO 'A', and Shri Varkey Christopher, TA 'C', Gas Turbine Research Establishment (GTRE), Bangalore, have been jointly awARDEd the Production Technology Award--1999 by the Aeronautical Society of India, New Delhi. The prize consists of a Citation and Rs 10,000 to be shared equally by the two awARDEes.

Technical Paper Award

Dr I Gurrappa, Sci D, Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory (DMRL), Hyderabad, has won the Best Technical Paper Award for his paper on Degradation of M-CrAlY-based Bond Coatings--A Novel Approach presented at the 5th National Convention on Corrosion held at New Delhi, during 22-24 November 1999.

Panthaki Award

Dr Amol Gokhale, Sci F and Dr G Madhusudhan Reddy, Sci D, DMRL, have been awARDEd Panthaki Award for their paper on Weldability Aspects of an Aeronautical Grade Aluminum-Lithium Alloy presented at the International Welding Conference-1999.

SEMCE (I) Award

Dr DC PandeDr DC Pande, Sci F, Electronics & Radar Development Establishment (LRDE), Bangalore, has been presented SEMCE (I) Award--1998 by the Society of EMC Engineers (India) in recognition of his contribution towards the development of test facility and methods in EMC and EMP and support to indigenous development of EMI shielding materials.



Best Paper Award

Dr Nirbhay Singh and Dr GN Mathur, Defence Materials & Stores Research & Development Establishment (DMSRDE), Kanpur, and Dr MN Mongle, IIT, Kanpur were awARDEd the Best Paper Award for their paper on Oxidation Kinetics of (a+b) Ti-6Al-4V Titanium Alloy presented at 37th National Metallurgist's Day and 53rd Annual Technical Meeting of the Indian Institute of Metals held at IIT, Kanpur, during 14-16 November 1999.