« Back


DRDO Badminton TournamentDRDO volleyball team

The Solidstate Physics Laboratory (sspl), Delhi organised the North-Zone and Inter-Zone Badminton Tournaments from 23 February to 1 March 2000. Dr Vikram Kumar, Chairman, North-Zone Sports Council, welcomed the participants. Dr AK Datta, CC R&D, DRDO HQrs, New Delhi, who was the Chief Guest on the occasion, inaugurated the sports complex building at the DRDO residential estate and played inaugural badminton match with Dr Vikram Kumar. Teams from IRDE and DEAL, Dehradun; DRDE, Gwalior; TBRL, Chandigarh; sspl, SAG, CEES, LASTEC, PEACE, INMAS, DIFR, all at Delhi; participated in the North-Zone Tournament. IRDE won the team championship while DRDE was the runners-up. Smt Reetam Kumar, W/o Dr Vikram Kumar, presented the trophies and medals to the winner teams and individual events.

The Central Zone team won the Inter-Zone Tournament title while South Zone team was the runner-up. Shri BR Grover, President,  DRDO Sports Board, distributed the trophies and medals to the winners.

National Volleyball Tournament

The DRDO Volleyball team participated in the 16th Departmental Nationals Volleyball Tournament organised by the Volleyball Federation of India at Tuticorin, Tamilnadu, during 6-12 March 2000. Shri Krishanpal, Secretary, DRDO North Zone Sports Council, led the team as a manager to the Tournament. The team consisted of players  from South Zone, Central Zone and North Zone.