« Back


Shram Veer Award

Shri P Rajagopal, Tech Asst, Electronics & Radar Development Establishment (LRDE), Bangalore, has been conferred with the distinction of Shram Veer Award 1999 by the Prime Minister of India. Shri Rajagopal has been awARDEd for his innovative skills and machining techniques adopted in producing critical components for various projects, particularly for aperture plate and power divider network which are critical components of slotted array planar antenna of LCA--MMR.

MK Nambair Memorial Oration Award

Dr W Selvamurthy, Director, Defence Institute of Physiology & Allied Sciences and Defence Institute of Psychological Research, Delhi, has been presented the MK Nambair Memorial Orat1on Award on 1 October 1999 during the 20th Annual Conference of IABMS held at MG Ramachandra Medical College and Research Institute Chennai. The honour is bestowed in recognition of his outstanding research in the field of Acclimatisation of Man in Extreme Environment. The Award carries a Gold Medal and a Citation.

Ram Lal Wadhwa Gold Medal

Dr OP Nijhawan receiving the Gold Medal from Dr HS SharmaDr OP Nijhawan, Director, Instruments Research & Development Establishment (IRDE), Dehradun, was awARDEd the 22 IETE Ram Lal Wadhwa Gold Medal on 25 September 1999 by the Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers (lETE) at its 42 Annual Technical Convention organised at Delhi.



IRSI-(83) Award

Dr KD Nayak, Sci F and Shri Ashok Mittal Sci D, Defence Electronics Applications Laboratory (DEAL), Dehradun, were awARDEd IRSI-(83) Award (second prize) 1997-98, for their outstanding contributions in the field of radar science and microwave systems by the Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers (IETE).

Scientist Honoured

Dr HR Natarajan, Scientist, Gas Turbine Research Establishment (GTRE), Bangalore, has been included in the millennium edition of Marqui's Who is Who in the World for his significant contributions in the field of boundary layer studies in compressible flows. He has also significantly contributed in the design and experimental aspects of axial flow compressors in gas turbine engines. He is an associate member of the Aeronautical Society of India.


The Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory (DMRL), Hyderabad, observed Safety Week from 30 August to 3 September 1999. On this occasion, Shri P Satyanarayan, Dy Chief Inspector of Factories delivered a talk on Principles of Accident Prevention. Contests on essay and poem writing, cartoon drawings, elocutions, slogan writing and quiz competition on the theme of safety were organised. Dr D Banerjee, Director, DMRL, presided over the function and distributed prizes to the winners.


Dr T Lazar Mathew, Director, Institute of nuclear Medicine & Allied Sciences (INMAS), Delhi, inaugurated a Sports Club in the INMAS premises, on 8 September 1999. Facilities have been provided for playing table tennis, carom, badminton, chess, bridge and volleyball. All INMAS employees are allowed to play during 1300-1400 hrs every day.


The Defence Electronics Applications Laboratory (DEAL), Dehradun, observed the Environment Awareness Week during 16-21 August 1999. During the Week, special drive was launched by the Estate Management Unit to get the Sanchar Vihar area cleaned. As a part of the programme, the employees of DEAL contacted the local residents and shopkeepers and emphasised on the need for clean environment.