« Back



Dr Placid Rodriguez has been appointed Chairman, Recruitment & Assessment Centre (RAC), Delhi, wef 1 November 2000. Born in 1940, he did his BE (Metallurgy) at the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore. He joined the Department of Atomic Energy through its Training School in 1960 and worked in the Metallurgy Division of Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai, during 1961-74. He was deputed to Oak Ridge National Laboratory , USA, during 1963-65 for specialised training. During this period, he obtained his MS in Metallurgical Engineering from University of Tennessee. He was awARDEd PhD by IISc in 1976.

Dr Rodriguez joined the Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam in 1974 and served as its Director during 1992-2000. After his retirement on superannuation from the Department of Atomic Energy , he joined DRDO on 1 November 2000.

Dr Rodriguez is internationally well-known for his R&D contributions in mechanical metallurgy , welding metallurgy , nuclear materials and fast breeder reactor technology. His work in the area of serrated yielding and dynamic strain ageing is the most cited. He is equally well known for his work in creep, creep-fatigue interactions and for novel experimented techniques like stress relaxation and acoustic emission for studying dislocation dynamics. His standing in his profession has led to his involvement in several editorial responsibilities. Currently, he is the Subject Editor in the area of nuclear materials and irraDIATion effects of the Encyclopaedia of Materials: Science and Technology to be published by Elsevier Science Ltd in 2001. He is also on the Editorial Boards of several professional journals.

Dr Rodriguez is the Member of the Scientific Advisory Committee to the Cabinet, the Chairperson of the Research Council of the Central Electro-chemical Research Institute, Karaikudi, a Member of the Academic Council of the Anna University and the Technology Development Committee of the Shree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences and Technology .He has also been member of several national funding agencies for science and technology .He is a Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering, the Indian Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Sciences India, the Tamil Nadu Academy of Sciences, the Indian Institute of Metals, the Indian Institute of Welding and the Society for the Advancement of Electrochemical Science and Technology and a Member of the Asia-Pacific Academy of Materials and Honorary Fellow of Non-Destructive Society of India.

Dr Rodriguez is the recipient of several national awards, including National Metallurgists' Day Award (1978 & 2000), Keith Hartley Memorial (Lecture) Medal (1986), GD Birla Gold Medal (1987), Vasvik Research Award for Materials Science and Technology ( 1990), MRSI Lecture Medal (1991), MRSI-ICSC Award (1997), Shri Om Prakash Bhasin Foundation Award (1999) for engineering including energy and aerospace. 

Nomination/Election to Professional Committees

ARDE, Pune

Shri PU Deshpande, Distinguished Scientist & Director, ARDE, Pune, has been elected Member of the Governing Council of the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE) for 2001-02.

Dte of Agriculture, DRDO HQrs, New Delhi

Dr Brahma Singh, Director of Agriculture and Life Sciences, DRDO HQrs and Secretary, Life Sciences Research Board, DRDO, has been elected fellow of the National Academy of Agricultural Sciences (NAAS), New Delhi from 1 January 2001. Dr Singh's contribution to high altitude horticulture, particularly vegetable science brought him to the club of elite agricultural scientists of the country .He is known for his contribution in greening of Leh valley and popularisation of solar greenhouse cultivation of vegetables. He is also fellow of Association of Food Scientists and Technologists, India and  Indian Society of Vegetable Sciences.