N  E  W  S   L  E  T  T  E  R


INMAS, Delhi

Col RP Tripathi, Head, NMR Research Centre, Institute of Nuclear Medicine & Allied Sciences (INMAS), Delhi, has been awARDEd Dr KM Rai Memorial Oration and Gold Medal in appreciation of his academic and research contributions to Radiological and Imaging Sciences by the Indian Radiological and Imaging Association. The oration was delivered at the 51st Annual Congress of IR&IA held at PGIMER, Chandigarh. Col Tripathi has also been awARDEd Dr Panna Lal Varshney Memorial Oration by the Indian Radiological and Imaging Association, UP Branch, Kanpur, on 9 October 1999.

Ms Seema GuptaMs Seema Gupta, SRF, received the Best Presentation Award for her paper, 'Differences in Photodynamic Effect of Hematoporphyrin Derivatives in Human Squamous Carcinoma and Glioma Cell Lines' at the XI National Conference of Physiological Society of India held in Delhi, during November 1999.


Dr BS DwarakanathDr BS Dwarakanath, Sci E, has been conferred with the Indira Vasudevan Award-1999 by the Indian Association of Biomedical Scientists for his work on 'Experimental and Clinical Studies to Improve the Radiotherapy of Human Brain Tumors.'



CEES, Delhi

Ms Aparna RathiMs Aparna Rathi, SRF, Centre for Environment and Explosive Safety (CEES), Delhi, has been awARDEd for her paper on 'Advanced Oxidation Process for Treatment of Acid Black 38' presented at the New Millennium Conference on Retrospect of Indian Research on Environmental Pollution--Focus 21st Century, held on 22 November 1999.



DARL, Pithoragarh

Dr Mohommad Arif, Sci C, Defence Agricultural Research Laboratory (DARL), Pithoragarh, has been elected SPPS Fellow-1999 of the Society of Plant Protection Sciences at the National Symposium on Crop Pest and Disease Management-Challenges for the Next Millennium, held at the Mahatma Phule Krishi Vidyapeeth, Rahuri, on 27 November 1999.

NSTL, Visakhapatnam

Dr V Bhajunga RaoDr V Bhujanga Rao, Sci F, Naval Science & Technological Laboratory (NSTL), Visakhapatnam, has been elected Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE) in recognition of his distinguished contributions to engineering.



LRDE, Bangalore

Shri VVS PrakashShri VVS Prakash, Sci C, Electronics & Radar Development Establishment (LRDE), Bangalore, has been selected for the INAE Young Engineering Award-1999 by the Indian National Academy of Engineering.




Dr W Selvamurthy, Director, Defence Institute of Physiology & Allied Sciences (DIPAS) and Defence Institute of Psychological Research (DIPR), Delhi, has been honoured with the Pioneers of Health in 2000 Award by the SAAOL Health and Research Foundation for his valuable contributions in the field of research in lifestyle and health during the past two decades, on 27 November 1999, at the 2nd International Conference on Life Style and Health organised at India Habitat Centre, New Delhi. Hon'ble Justice Shri GT Nanavati, Judge, Supreme Court, gave away the Award to Dr Selvamurthy.