Director's Profile


Shri Hari Babu Srivastava

took over as Director of LASTEC on 20th June 2014.

He started his career in DRDO at IRDE, Dehradun as Scientist 'B' in Aug 1984. He was appointed Head of Servo Systems Division of IRDE on 01 April 2000, upgraded to the position of Chief Designer of Fire Control System Design Centre on 01 Jan 2008 and rose to the position of Group Director of the Fire Control Systems group on 01 July 2012. He took over as Director of Electronics and Computer Science at DRDO HQ on 18th April 2013 and was re-designated as Director Tech. (Electronics and Communication Systems) on restructuring of DRDO HQ on implementation of Rama Rao Committee recommendation.

An alumnus of IIT Roorkee and IIT Kanpur, Shri Hari Babu Srivastava specialized as a control engineer at IRDE. Later on, in his various capacities, he led the development of a number of technologies of electro-optical fire control and surveillance systems - EO sensor integration, line of sight stabilization, embedded electronics and software, ballistic computation, weapon slaving, fire control etc. These technologies found application in various electro-optical fire control and surveillance sights/systems for Arjun Mk I and Mk II Main Battle Tanks, Electro-Optical Fire Control Systems for Naval ships, Infantry Combat Vehicle 'Abhay' and gimbaled laser seeker for air dropped bombs. Apart from systems of his direct responsibility, he also contributed in many important projects of DRDO as an expert member in various design and other review committees. At DRDO HQ, as part of a think tank, he generated a number of reports related to the areas of ECS cluster and led a team of senior scientists in developing DRDO's business approach towards immediate requirements of LTIPP.

He has authored 25 technical papers in various national and international referred journals and seminar/conference proceedings, apart from numerous internal DRDO/IRDE reports. He has co-edited a DRDO monograph on 'Night Vision and Electro Optics Technology Review'.

He is life member of Optical Society of India (OSI) and Instrument Society of India (ISOI). He is also a past Joint Secretary of the national executive of ISOI. He is a recipient of DRDO Cash prize, DRDO Group Technology Award and Laboratory Group Technology Award.