Dr (Ms) Tessy Thomas

Dr (Ms) Tessy Thomas

Distinguished Scientist & Director General - Aeronautical Systems (AS)

Dr. Tessy Thomas, Distinguished Scientist, has taken over as Director General (Aeronautical Systems) w.e.f 01-Jun-2018. She obtained her B.Tech in Electrical Engineering from Calicut University, ME in Guided Missiles from Institute of Armament Technology (now Defence Institute of Advanced Technology), Pune and PhD in Missile Guidance from Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University (JNTU), Hyderabad. She obtained MBA in Operations Management from Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU), New Delhi.

Dr. Tessy Thomas Joined IAT, Pune as a faculty member in Guided Missiles in the year 1986. She joined DRDL,Hyderabad in 1988. She was associated with Agni Programme right from its developmental flights. She has designed the guidance scheme for long range missile systems which is used in all Agni missiles. An energy management guidance scheme was designed and developed for the first time in the country for an all – solid propelled long range systems for which she was conferred with Agni self reliance award in the year 2001. She has contributed in various fields such as Guidance, Control, Inertial Navigation, Trajectory Simulation and Mission Design. She lead a major project AGNI-4 as Project Director, for a state-of-art system with many new technologies for the first time and successfully flight tested and proven. She was also Project Director (Mission) for the long range AGNI-5 system, which was successfully flight tested and proven. As Director, Advanced Systems Laboratory, DRDO, she held multi-dimensional roles and responsibilities and lead the development of strategic missile system from 2014 to 2018.

Dr. Tessy Thomas is the recipient of many prestigious awards including Lal Bahadur Shastri National Award for Excellence in Public Administration Academics and Management-2012; DRDO Agni Award for Excellence in Self-Reliance – 2001; DRDO Award for Path breaking Research/Outstanding Technology Development-2007; DRDO Scientist of the Year Award-2008; DRDO Performance Excellence Award for Agni-4 in 2011; DRDO Performance Excellence Award for Agni-5 in 2012; Suman Sharma Award by The Institution of Engineers (India), National Design and Research Forum for Engineering Design in 2009; Madam Marie Curie Mahila Vijnana Puraskar-2012; Dr. Y. Nayudamma Memorial Award for the Year 2014 for Outstanding Contributions in the field Missile Technology, “Bharat Ratna Sir Mokshagundam Visvesvaraya Award-2016” towards outstanding contributions in the field of Engineering towards design, development and realization of indigenous missile systems by The Institution of Engineers (India), Telangana State Centre, Hyderabad, “Distinguished Woman Scientist Award” in 2016 for her contributions in the field of Missile Technologyby Andhra Pradesh Science Congress, Andhra Pradesh Academy of Sciences.

Honoris Causa: -

  • Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from IIT, Kanpur in 2019.
  • Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from Central University of Karnataka, Kalaburagi in 2018.
  • Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar University, Agra in 2017.
  • Doctor of Literature (Honoris Causa) from ITM University, Gwalior in 2016.
  • Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from Sri Padmavati Mahila Vishwavidyalaya University, Tirupathi in 2015.
  • Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from Hindustan University, Chennai in 2014.
  • Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from Mangalayatan University, Aligarh in 2012.
  • Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) in Space Science from Kalyani University, West Bengal in 2012.
Back to Top